We defend clients that are in need of an experienced criminal attorney & have been accused of driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence. Virginia courts define a DUI as a Class 1 Misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail accompanied by a fine up to $2,500.00, license suspension, and alcohol education class requirements. Virginia takes DWIs or DUIs more seriously than most states, see Va Code 18.2-266. Even if it is your 1st time offense, you should seek counsel. There are serious life altering ramifications when it comes to Virginia Law and Driving while under the influence so don’t leave it up to a public defender, use Portsmouth most recognized criminal attorney Von Piersall III PC.
All of our criminal lawyers do their best to remove or minimize jail time since a majority of the time, our clients are charged with taking of providing for their families. It makes it very difficult to make money when you are locked up.
It shall be unlawful for any person to drive or operate any motor vehicle, engine or train (i) while such person has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more by weight by volume or 0.08 grams or more per 210 liters of breath as indicated by a chemical test administered as provided in this article, (ii) while such person is under the influence of alcohol, (iii) while such person is under the influence of any narcotic drug or any other self-administered intoxicant or drug of whatsoever nature, or any combination of such drugs, to a degree which impairs his ability to drive or operate any motor vehicle, engine or train safely, (iv) while such person is under the combined influence of alcohol and any drug or drugs to a degree which impairs his ability to drive or operate any motor vehicle, engine or train safely, or (v) while such person has a blood concentration of any of the following substances at a level that is equal to or greater than: (a) 0.02 milligrams of cocaine per liter of blood, (b) 0.1 milligrams of methamphetamine per liter of blood, (c) 0.01 milligrams of phencyclidine per liter of blood, or (d) 0.1 milligrams of 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine per liter of blood.
Being charged with reckless driving is a serious offense in the state of Virginia. Depending on the outcome, it can affect jail time, your driving record, insurance, fines, security clearances and how long your license will be suspended for. Von Piersall III Criminal Attorneys have won countless reckless cases in terms of an optimal result. Do not leave the verdict to a paid-off public defender, hire a local Portsmouth attorney that has been practicing law in these courts for over a decade, Trey will represent your future.
Code of Virginia § 46.2-852 defines reckless driving as:
Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.
Larceny is the Virginia charge for theft or taking property that does not belong to you without a proper exchange in value. If you are smart, you will pass on getting a public defender, because personally hiring a local court known Portsmouth criminal attorney is paramount in these cases. Petit Larceny is a Misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail. Grand Larceny is considered a Felony punishable by up to 20 years of imprisonment. Shoplifting and concealing merchandise is larceny from a store, which may be charged as a Felony if the value of goods was above $200.
Virginia defines larceny as:
The wrongful or fraudulent taking of things of value, belonging to another, without that person or business’ consent, and with the intention to permanently deprive that person or business of the value of the items taken. Intent to permanently deprive a store of merchandise is imposed on defendants in Virginia courts when they leave the Point of Sale without paying for the merchandise.
Our criminal lawyers defend clients that have been accused of drug possession in the state of Virginia and more specifically in the city court of Portsmouth. There are three recognized drug offense in Virginia. 1. Possession occurs when you possess a controlled substance without a written prescription, 2. Sale or Distribution occurs when you sell, provide, give away, or distribute a controlled substance in any manner. 3. Manufacturing occurs when you produce a controlled substance. Public defenders just cannot do the same thing a hired gun that practices directly with the Portsmouth court system can. It is our goal as your advocate to find you not guilty, give you options and as much information as possible for you to make an informed decision. Our criminal attorneys have been doing this a long time, we know what to expect, we know what your possibilities are and will do everything with our years of intimate court knowledge to fight for you. Call us now 757-967-9930.
Code of Virginia § 54.1-3401 contains the following definitions:
“Sale” includes barter, exchange, or gift, or offer therefore, and each such transaction made by any person, whether as an individual, proprietor, agent, servant, or employee.
“Distribute” means to deliver other than by administering or dispensing a controlled substance.
“Manufacture” means the production, preparation, propagation, conversion, or processing of any item regulated by this chapter, either directly or indirectly by extraction from substances of natural origin, or independently by means of chemical synthesis, or by a combination of extraction and chemical synthesis, and includes any packaging or repackaging of the substance or labeling or relabeling of its container. This term does not include compounding.
The entire process was a breeze, Trey is the best lawyer in Portsmouth hands-down. The legal system is stacked against the common man, even the odds!
I did not want to even think about what was happening to me, Von Piersall made the entire process seamless and less emotional for me.